10 Anniversary ICCWC: Trophy Winners Announced

Wednesday, August 15, 2018 - 5:15pm

10th Anniversary International Cold Climate Wine Competition Results are coming in. 24 judges from around the nation met today at the Minnesota Landscape Arboretum in Chaska to judge cold-climate wines. The only competition of its kind that focuses on wines made with cold hardy grapes, fruit, or mead. Over 340 wines were entered from 66 wineries. These wineries were from 16 states and 2 Canadian provinces, a true international competition. The full medal list will be presented on 8/16/2018, but the top trophy winners have been notified! These winners include:

Governor’s Cup

(Best Minnesota Wine of the competition scored by 24 judges)

Northern Hollow Winery, Foley, MN

La Crescent 2017

Winery of the Year 

(Top winery in the competition based on earning medals for up to 5 wines)
Carlos Creek Winery, Alexandria, MN

Best of show wines must first earn a gold medal from a 3-judge panel, and then are advanced to a second round with a 6-judge panel for the following categories.

Best of Show Rosé

Carlos Creek Winery, Alexandria, MN

White Marquette 2017

Best of Show White

Northern Hollow Winery, Foley, MN

La Crescent 2017

Best of Show Red

Chateau St. Croix, St. Croix Falls, WI


Reserve Marquette 2015

Best of Show Specialty

Lincoln Peak Vineyard, New Haven, VT

“Firelight” 2017

LaCrescent and Frontenac Gris